Burning golf question answered: Is it OKAY to drop a 2nd ball throughout a friendly match?

The familiar circumstance goes something like this: You are playing a friendly match. Your opponent has a basic 9-iron into the green, but he pulls his approach into the bunker. Exasperated, disappointed, whatever you wish to call it, your opponent throws down another ball, and strikes a second shot for practice.

By the letter of the guidelines, this is a violation (Rule 7-2: "A player should not make a practice stroke throughout play of a hole.") OK, fine, but truly, very few people play weekend rounds of golf by the letter of the rules anyway. Rather the much better question is whether this is a breach of etiquette.To puts it simply, when your challenger drops a second ball throughout a hole, Are you OKAY with it?

To obtain to the bottom of this argument, we first put the concern to our followers on Twitter, where admittedly the demographics alter a bit younger. The dominating sentiment was a little additional practice is great.But a tougher crowd to please is a group of Golf Digest editors. Their thoughts? Well, as normal, they didn't unanimously concur. Some were OK with it. Some discovered such liberal dropping an affront to the stability of the video game. Who's right? We'll let you sort through the reactions to choose on your own.

Max Adler, deputy editor: Relax. Ben Hogan stated golf and tournament golf are as alike as baseball and hockey, so if you’re not playing in an official event, who cares? Take another shot as long as you do it rapidly.Peter Morrice, senior editor: Negative. Just with my kids do I play hit till you’re happy.

Ashley Mayo, senior editor: Yep, I’d be completely OK with it. Ideally, however, he’d ask me if it was OKAY to strike a 2nd shot simply for practice. If an opponent asks to hit a practice shot and explains that the first shot is the one he’ll play, I can’t think of too many golfers would reject his wish.Stephen Hennessey, associate editor: The only case I’d not be OKAY with this if I’m seeking to pick up some competitive benefit. And let’s not kid ourselves-- if you’re not playing for lots of money or in a competition, you shouldn’t care in the least about one practice shot. Once it gets to 2 practice shots, then it’s time to put the foot down.Stina Sternberg, worldwide golf director: Seriously, why would anyone NOT be OKAY with that during a casual match? It takes 10 seconds, it doesn’t count towards the match, and it might make your buddy feel better about him and have more enjoyable moving forward. Lighten up, people.

Mike Stachura, senior editor: Here’s the thing: This is not a driving variety. I didn’t come out here to enjoy you strike balls. The do-over recommends you’re frantically attempting to prove to me that you’re in fact not that bad, that you’re better than me, cooler. Golf has to do with accepting then recovering from our errors. Grow a set, suffer in silence and vow to obtain better. Otherwise, find some other tool who tolerates your sense of supremacy. You’ve just become someone I want to be around less than that rutabaga who yells 'Bababooey!' after pros struck their tee shots. I’ll play alone, thank you. With one ball.

Mike Johnson, senior editor: As long as the group behind isn't crawling up your back you can hit a little bucket for all I care.Joel Beall, assistant editor: Sure. For those stressed the opponent is acquiring a benefit by working out their kinks, sprinkle in gamesmanship: 'Hmm, your first swing looked a lot much better.'